Adobe Connect User Community
Menu

#1 2008-10-28 05:55:12

**_jamesrowe_**

High Quality Video Transmission

Hi,

I am a connect Administrator in the UK. We have been asked if it is possible to add a high quality live video/audio stream into a connect session (nopt the normal camera and voice pod). I assume I would have to use some type of live flash media encoder but I do not know where to even start. Does anyone have any hints/tips on this? I also think I will have to use the VP6 codec not the H.264.

Has anyone managed to do this?

#2 2008-10-28 08:03:32

**_gajett_**

Re: High Quality Video Transmission

Define 'high quality'.
Also, if you want to share live audio/video, but not with the camera and voice pod, your options are fairly limited.
we have used a converter device to go from a higher quality cam to usb based interface so it shows up in connect.  we then increase all video settings (high quality/fast images) and increase the size of the pod. 

bandwidth will also potentially be an issue......

#3 2008-10-28 08:59:19

**_tlchurch_**

If you use the camera and voice pod but do not want to use a web camera, you can use an encoder card (e.g. Osprey) to bring in alternate video feeds (much better cameras).

#4 2008-10-28 10:57:07

**_thomasattrp_**

We hooked up an old Sony Betacam with a firewire connection and it works like a charm to provide high quality video. For our presentations we use it rather than a web cam. Works so well we just bought a used one on ebay so we could have two.  Can also use DVdriver with it, but it hasn't been necessary.  DVDriver helps make the camera think it is a webcam.  Others may know more about how that works. Understand that if the camera has a USB connection, that will work, too, but haven't tried it.  Here's a string of comments speaking to this topic, I think: http://www.connectusers.com/forums/cucb … 2272#p2272

#5 2008-10-29 05:31:40

**_jamesrowe_**