Adobe Connect User Community
Menu

#1 2008-10-16 16:20:54

**_wsipc-mike_**

Using a log analyser with Connect

Management has ask for a way to know who is logged into the Connect server at any particular time. I have been tasked with getting this done. Since time is a factor I was looking for a simple turnkey solution that just parses out the access.log file.

I am finding that the log files seem to use non-standard column names because the applications I am using seem unable to determin what data goes where (i.e. dates appearing in the DNS column, user names coming through as dates).

Assuming there is no way to configure the log output in Connect, has anyone had success with an API or other solution? I am not a coder by any means, but if that's the only way to get this info then I would be willing to hack something together.

We are running a licensed version of Connect Enterprise 7.

Last edited by **_wsipc-mike_** (2008-10-16 16:28:22)

#2 2008-10-16 17:13:11

**_michael_**

Re: Using a log analyser with Connect

There are a few ways to tackle this one.  The supported method would be to use the APIs, and in particular, report-active-meetings, which will give you a list of all active meetings, their SCO IDs.  You can then get specifics on each meeting.

Another method (unsupported, will potentially break with scheme changes from release-to-release, yadda yadda) is to get directly at the DB.  You could create a read-only view, for example, and then display that in whatever way your management has requested (Flex, CSV, HTML, ...)

#3 2008-10-16 18:00:03

**_wsipc-mike_**

I think the API solutions is best, but my first feeble attempt at cobbling together a Coldfusion file failed miserably. I was using an old Breeze 5 integration guide, so maybe that old document is no longer relevant.

Any advice for a n00b?

#4 2008-10-17 07:07:14

**_michael_**

Definitely grab the later version (Connect 6 or 7) of the docs.  I think the API flow is going to go something like: