Adobe Connect User Community
Menu

#1 2008-06-19 19:57:12

**_adorn_**

Connect freezes my computer

Hi-
I am a teacher using the Adobe Connect for my online classroom.  About 30 minutes into my lesson, my computer bogs down and moves so slow that I have to reboot in order to continue with the lesson.   I have not gotten an answer from tech support, and am hoping to get some help here.
Thanks!

#2 2008-06-20 06:32:28

**_gajett_**

Re: Connect freezes my computer

computer and use info might help:
computer - type (win/mac), processor/ram/connection speed and type (wired/wireless), what else is running?,
use - screen sharing, a/v pod, etc...

greg

#3 2008-06-20 14:03:33

**_adorn_**

I am using a dell laptop with a 1600 MHz processor with 512 MB of RAM, about half of which is used during normal computing.  I use it on a wireless setting and we have cable internet.  I leave nothing else running before I teach. 

While teaching I use the share pod to upload ppt docs and use the whiteboard overlay, and I also use the voice and chat pods.  Screen sharing does slow down my computer, but I do that at a minimum.

#4 2008-06-20 14:20:08

**_gajett_**

which OS?  XP? Vista?
anyway -- when you are in a meeting, what does the task manager say about process/cpu usage?  the connect add-in will probably be the top cpu user.
something else to check -- again in the task manager - from a restart or cold boot -- open task manager and look at the processes tab -- how many?

#5 2008-07-08 19:38:28

**_adorn_**

I am using XP...

Connect uses most of my memory(processes CPU usage usually tops 70+ after about 30 minutes and is over 90 by 45 minutes of use).  I have set the priority to below normal, and that seems to help some. 

from a cold boot i have somewhere around 35 processes

#6 2008-07-09 10:44:21

**_gajett_**