Adobe Connect User Community
Menu

#1 2015-09-21 08:37:54

MRosenfield

Bad Delays in meeting

We are using our meeting rooms to conduct online classes.  Yesterday, one of our teachers (the meeting host) was experiencing horrible delays.  Yet most of the participants seemed not to be experiencing the same problem.  When I was talking with the teacher, after the students had left the room, the delay disappeared.  Is this likely to be caused by a poor internet connection, and if so, what can be done about it?

#2 2015-10-07 16:24:01

PeeRee

Re: Bad Delays in meeting

Hello!

I've got some info that I hope will help, and also some questions of my own that hopefully someone else can chime in on. I'm not a tech expert, but I've done lots of research and testing with our own meeting rooms. I frequently (multiple times per week) host events where we have as many as 40 people participating in events that include VOIP, heavily animated presentations (think Jib Jab made with PowerPoint), MP3 audio tracks and webcams. Needless to say, lag and other bandwidth issues are constant struggle for us!

In my experience, bandwidth issues on the user's end are usually the cause of delays, especially if not everyone is affected similarly. This is especially true when you have many people broadcasting audio and/or video simultaneously, such as during a class discussion. I've also seen it affect individuals by stopping their incoming audio, so they suddenly can't hear anything in the room. Others have issues when trying to use their webcam. I have one user who can share his webcam until about ten people are in the room, and then his image goes black on the video pod and the Connect add-in stops functioning on his PC. (I worked with that particular user in an attempt to track down the issue, and had no luck. I did hear from others in our company, though, that many other users who had the same model of PC had similar issues, to the point that they actually switched machines to fix it.)