Adobe Connect User Community

Managing Access to Your Adobe Connect Room

Alistair Lee, Adobe

Expertise Level: Beginner

1 Votes

Because of their flexibility, Adobe Connect rooms can be used for a huge number of use cases. In some cases, like a webinar, customers want to eliminate any barriers to entry to their virtual room. In others, like a room setup for team meetings, the host may wish to restrict the room specifically to those invited.

Adobe Connect includes a number of features to help you grant or limit access to your virtual room. These include:

  • Access options in Adobe Connect
  • Adding a passcode
  • Inviting and restricting users and groups

 

Access Options in Adobe Connect

There are 4 options to control access to your Adobe Connect room in the New Meeting Wizard:

Only registered users may enter the room (guest access is blocked).

Use this option if you want to require that everyone must be:

  1. Logged In
  2. Be invited to the room

This locks down your room so that only users and groups who have been specifically invited can enter. We'll cover invitations in the next section. It's more secure than using a shared passcode since each user has an individual username and passcode. As the setting indicates, guest access is blocked. There is no way for some to "knock" on your virtual door to request entry.

Only registered users and account members may enter the room.

The second option was added in Adobe Connect 10.5 to make it easier for our customers to more easily limit access to those within their own organization. This option also requires everyone to login with their individual usernames and passcodes, but does not require them to be specifically invited to the meeting.

Only registered users and accepted guests may enter the room.

The third option is the default and it provides a nice balance between keeping access limited, while giving the host the option of accepting guests who have not been specifically invited to the room. Those who have been specifically invited can login and will be automatically granted access to the room. Those who haven't been invited - and perhaps don't even have accounts - can type their name into a "Guest" field and request entry. The meeting host is alerted in the room that someone is requesting entry and they can choose to accept, decline, or decline with a custom message. In the last case, the meeting host can add a message letting the user know why they're being declined.

Anyone who has the URL for the meeting can enter the room.

The last option removes all restrictions from the Adobe Connect room, allowing anyone who knows the meeting URL to join with or without authentication. All users will still see a login screen, but they can choose to login either with their credentials (if they have an account), or by adding a name in the guest field. This option is not only widely used for customer-facing events like webinars, but also in some cases where customers want to setup a room that can be accessed at any time - including when the host isn't around. The rooms can be setup with web links, notes, file downloads, and even custom apps.

Adding a Passcode

A shared passcode isn't as secure as requiring users to login with their individual credentials, but it can be more convenient - especially if you want to provide access to users outside of your organization (who don't have accounts) while still protecting the room. The passcode can be combined with any of the other access options to add a secondary level of security.

Inviting and restricting users

The primary options for allowing and restricting access revolved around "Registered Users". So, what is a registered user?

The second page of the new meeting creation wizard enables you, as the owner of the meeting room, to define who is invited (registered) and to control their level of access in the room. It contains two tables. The table on the left includes all of the groups and users in the Adobe Connect database. The table on the right includes everyone who is invited to your room, and their level of access. You can add groups or individual users from the left table to the right table. Doing so, will enable them to access your room by logging in. You can select multiple users & groups by holding down Shift or Control (Command on the macOS) while selecting them from the table.

The second column on the table to the right shows the permissions each group has in your meeting. By default, you should be setup as the host and any new users you add will be participants. You can change the permissions here and they will automatically take on that role when they enter the room.

In addition to being able to set them as a Host, Presenter, and Participant, you can also set their room permission to "Denied". This will ensure they are denied entry into the room even if they're in one of the groups that has access.

Recordings

By default, a recording takes on the same permission level as the room itself. That means anyone who has been invited to the room can access the recording. Those who have not specifically been invited cannot access the recording. If you'd like to give additional people access to your recording, you have some options:

  • Change the access to the recording to 'Public'. This will enable anyone with the URL to access the recording. You can optionally add a shared passcode to the recording which will restrict viewing to those who know the passcode.
  • Move the recording to your Content Library. By moving the recording to a content folder, you can set the permissions at a granular level. Clicking on the content, then on the 'Set Permissions' tab will show you who can access the content. By default, this takes on the attributes of the parent folder - but you can customize it to be whatever you'd like.

Using these options can help you set the level of access on your Adobe Connect room to make it as open or locked down as you'd like.


February 2020



Member Comments

Share your thoughts. Tell us what you think about this tutorial.


Sign in to leave comments


<< Back to Tutorials main menu.